My my My my

The Darryl Sigleski Memorial Award & Scholarship

The Darryl Sigleski Memorial Award and Scholarship was set up in Darryl's honor for a Middlesex Youth Hockey Midget by a group of parents and coaches who wanted to keep his memory alive. The #18 was retired in Darryl's memory at the 1997 Middlesex Youth Hockey annual meeting. A plaque and scholarship has been presented annually since 1996 to the midget senior player who best exemplifies the dedication, leadership, outgoing personality and skills so much reflected during Darryl's short lifetime. The player must have definite college plans. A large wall plaque is hung in Wesleyan University ice rink with the names of the honorees.


About Darryl Sigleski

Darryl Sigleski, June 7, 1977 - December 2, 1995

December 2, 1995 while playing hockey at Tri-Town Sports Center (Champions Skating Center) Darryl Sigleski collapsed on the ice during the first period. He was wearing his #18 shirt with the letter "C", which stood for captain. Darryl left us doing what he loved and did best - playing hockey. Darryl had been a member of Middlesex Youth Hockey Association since 1982 starting in the Clinic program when he was five years old. As a Mite, his team won the Connecticut State Championship. As a Squirt, Darryl's team won the Connecticut and New England Championships. As a Peewee, the team traveled to Quebec Canada and played in the International Peewee Tournament. By the time Darryl was a Bantam and then a Midget his leadership qualities had emerged and was voted team captain by his fellow teammates. His team was State Champions and a finalist in the New England tournaments. Darryl gained the respect and admiration of his fellow hockey players. Although he was a top goal scorer his assists always outnumbered his goals. The last tournament for Darryl was at the 4- Ice Rinks in Montreal Canada in April of 1995. The closeness of the team that had developed over the years gave the Middlesex Midget team the edge to win the tournament. This was the first American team to win this tournament and Darryl was named the most valuable player. The qualities that made him such a special player on the ice began as a child growing up in Durham. There he built loyal friendships, a respect for others, a determination for success and ideals that were uniquely his own. He had a zest for life and was always looking for new adventures


Monitory Contributions can be sent to:
Darryl Sigleski Memorial Scholarship Fund
c/o Patti Deegan, Administrator, 236 Cross Street Middletown, CT 06457


The honorees are as listed:

1996   Joey Boucher
1997   Mark Kennedy
1998   Derek Erquhart & Chris Parks
1999   David Levine
2000   Michael Bevis & Josh Neto
2001   Matthew Evans
2002   Jesse Greenwald
2003   Doug Sangster & Michael Massimino
2004   Mark Genzlinger
2005   Jay Breindel and Josh Anderson
2006   Andy Kiss and Tim Dietrick
2007   Andrew Marzec
2008   Nick Tomczyk 
Mark Veillette
2010   Ken Baldwin & Mark Virgulto
2011   Ryan Maloney